2015 Beauty Favorites

DSCN0043

I wanted to do a quick round up of some of my favorite beauty products of 2015. These are mostly makeup products, with a few other random beauty favorites.

Unintentionally, I have found favorite products from a nice mix of both affordable brands and luxury brands.

These products were consistently reliable & rewarding to use, so I wanted to share my thoughts on each, in case you’re looking for some new things to try out in the new year.

DSCN0036

L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte 24HR Foundation: Tried and true, this foundation provides such great coverage, is long lasting, and is affordable. This was definitely my most worn foundation of 2015.

Too Faced ‘Better Than Sex’ Mascara: Aside from the crude name, I love everything about this mascara. This product gives serious length & volume. It took a few weeks to get used to its wet formula and large brush, but it is absolutely worth the hype.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder ‘Ethereal Light’: Another cult classic, that in my opinion, is worth the splurge. I wear this both as a highlight, and as an all over setting powder. It gives this really nice, soft-focus effect that I love for both everyday makeup, and special occasion looks. Next I think I’m going to try out ‘Diffused Light’.

DSCN0038

Benefit ‘Gimme Brow’: I’m not very fussy with my brows (although I’m tempted to try getting my brows done in the new year!), but this product is consistently dependable. I can get quick color & shape to my brows in just a few seconds, which is a big plus for me. Its tiny brush distributes just enough product; and I love the flexible hold it provides.

Rimmel Exaggerate Full Colour Lip Liner in ‘East End Snob’: I’ve spoken about this product a few times already, and for good reason. This is the BEST lip liner I’ve ever tried. The color is super wearable for many different skin tones, and the longevity makes it so easy to upkeep all day.

‘Taylor’ by Taylor Swift Perfume: If you know me, you know that I am obsessed with fragrance. I collect perfume as a hobby, and have found so many incredible scents that I’ve loved over the years (Tom Ford, Jo Malone, Georgio Armani, etc.). This scent is not at all juvenile like you might assume. To me, it is the perfect warm, sweet scent that you can wear year round. For the first time, ever, I repurchased a bottle; and for me – that’s a big deal! It’s not something I wear everyday, but it is definitely my absolute favorite in my collection — and is seriously affordable, which is a nice bonus.

DSCN0039

Thayers Alcohol-Free Rose Petal Witch Hazel Organic Aloe Vera Toner: This toner replaced my previous, Boots Botanics favorite, this past year. I love that this product is gentle on my sensitive skin, but still effective in taking off any last bits of makeup. It always leaves my skin feeling clean and refreshed. I use it with an exfoliating cotton pad, both at night and in the morning. I also love the light rose fragrance as an added bonus.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Water Gel: This moisturizer is super simple ingredients-wise, but I love the experience of using it. It is a gel moisturizer, so it feels innately soothing and cooling. It also has a wonderful scent to it, and sits great under foundation. It may not be moving mountains, but I have now repurchased it 3 times.

DSCN0040

Dove Advanced Care ‘Beauty Finish’ Anti-Perspirant Deodorant: Random, I know. I am one of those people who really just buys whichever deodorant happens to be on sale at Target. However, in the past year, I found that I loved the smell, texture, and effectiveness of this deodorant more than any other. I love it so much so, that I have 3 refills ready under my sink.

DSCN0041

Moroccanoil Dry Shampoo: Although I am still loyal to Batiste Dry Shampoo for day-to-day upkeep, I absolutely love using this product for special occasions. It has that classic, luxurious, Moroccanoil scent, and is purple-toned, which is great for blonde hair. It is a middle priced item ($26-ish?) — but in my opinion, its scent is totally worth the extra dollars.

Leave a Reply

