Foodie Favorite: The Great Maple

If all goes as planned, this will be the beginning of a new series here for me on my blog.

Meet Foodie Favorite.

Although I don’t get to come and write here as much as I’d like to, I’m always brainstorming about what I would/could write if I had time. And one of most prominent concepts that always comes to my mind, is restaurant reviews.

What can I say, I REALLY love food. I also really love to try new places. And although San Diego isn’t necessarily coveted as a “foodie” destination, I vouch for the fact that we do truly have SO many awesome restaurants to offer — sometimes, you just have to do a little searching to find them. I’m no food connoisseur, but I like to think I know of a few cool places that I’d love to recommend to anyone interested in trying something new.

So here is the start to a series where I highlight some of my favorite food joints in San Diego. And first up…..

image1

THE GREAT MAPLE. Great is literally in the name of this place, and rightfully so.

I discovered The Great Maple this past spring, when a friend was coming into town to visit, and we were looking to go to brunch in Hillcrest. Honestly: best. brunch. ever.

From their beignets covered in powdered sugar (& served next to a delicious lemon curd), to their bright, fresh plate of avocado toast, to their popovers & of course, maple bacon donuts — this place can apparently do no wrong.

I’ve now had the chance to sit both inside & outside, and the ambiance is as awesome as the food.

Oh, and did I mention that about every 30-45 minutes, they come around with what my best friend & I named a “scone-ski”, and serve you tiny samples of delicious homemade pastries? Yes, I know… brilliant isn’t it? Oh, and they have several vegan options as well. (Literally, all bases covered.)

Overall, this place is a fun, quirky, & delicious spot to bring friends, go on a date, and/or enjoy brunch, all while taking in some awesome ‘libations’. I highly recommend it to anyone in the San Diego area who is looking for a fun new spot for breakfast/brunch.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

11781610_10155802650110231_5616834129322496884_n

My one word of advice: make a reservation. I’m not the only one who loves this place, & I’ve yet to go there for breakfast and not encounter a line. So long as you make reservations (even the night before!), you should be good.

MENU      |       RESERVATIONS       |        REVIEWS 

One thought on “Foodie Favorite: The Great Maple

Leave a Reply

