Birthday Cake

I am a firm believer in the idea that homemade gifts are just as special as store-bought gifts, and that sencerity does not come with a price tag.

With my birthday coming up, I thought I’d share my favorite ‘birthday cake’ recipe. For the past year or so, I have been making my slightly personalized version of this chocolate cake, as a gift for different special occasions.

Whether it was for Father’s Day, my brother’s birthday, or my boyfriend’s birthday, this cake has held up as a guaranteed crowd-pleaser. Taking the time to bake something for someone shows true effort and sincerity, which is why I always like to gift homemade goods to people I love.

image_2

Β The recipe is super easy to follow, and the coffee makes the flavor so much richer. I also like to add a teaspoon or so of cinnamon to my batter, which in my opinion, adds even more depth to the chocolate.

*Note: I most often use store-bought frosting for my cake*

IMG_0537

IMG_0538

IMG_0541

IMG_0543

IMG_0544[Quick tip: because the batter is quite wet, I strongly suggest you grease and line the cake tins with wax paper]

IMG_0545

IMG_0547

IMG_0553

[obviously had to stop my baking and watch some football]

IMG_0567

3 thoughts on “Birthday Cake

Leave a Reply

