Chia Pudding

I am fortunate enough to have a lot of people around me who are full of nutritional knowledge. Because of this, I get  great scoop on what the next best thing is to eat, drink, intake, etc. My all time favorite recommendation that I have ever gotten, was to start eating chia seeds. For almost four years now, I’ve been obsessed with these simple little seeds.  I like this article by the Huffington Post, which talks about why you should add chia seeds to your diet (scroll to the bottom of the page to find the 10 reasons in text form).

Insert: Chia Seed Pudding. I have seen several recipes for chia seed pudding in different magazines throughout the past few years, but I never remembered to save the pages.  So I got creative and concocted a recipe of my own, based on flavors I liked and what I had around the house. It’s really multifaceted, as it’s just as delicious for breakfast as it is for dessert, which is why I wanted to share my own take on it.

IMG_0516

Ingredients:

– 1-2 cups of coconut milk

– 2-3 tablespoons of chia seeds

– 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

– 1-2 drops of Vanilla extract (or any extract of your choice)

– 1 small dollup of honey

– Chopped fruit

Directions:

– Mix all ingredients into a small bowl

IMG_0517

– Stir very well so that the chia seeds are well incorporated into the milk

IMG_0521

– Pour into individual serving cups (I do this to manage portion control and just to keep things simple as possible)

IMG_0522

– Refrigerate mixture overnight (sometimes I stir the mixture after the first 30 minutes to make sure the chia is well distributed throughout the milk)

IMG_0525

– Top with a small handful of chopped fruit, and enjoy!

chia seeds, chia pudding, clean eating

Leave a Reply

