Clean Eating

If you’ve read any of my food-related posts, you’ll know that I am a huge sucker for chocolate, cookies, cake, and anything related to bread or cheese.. oh not to mention potatoes, pasta, and rice. That being said, I also do my best to incorporate clean and healthy components  into my diet at least once a day.

Having a college roommate who went on to be a health coach, I like to think I’ve learned a thing or two about healthy eating from a great and knowledgeable source. Other inspiration comes from doing my own research, asking dieticians and herbalists, and speaking with like-minded friends about clean and healthy eating. By making a few simple tweeks to my diet, I have noticed a positive change in my health, both mentally and physically.

I’m all about moderation and keeping things simple: a.k.a you don’t have to make extreme dietary changes to notice substantial differences. Instead, let yourself have that scone for breakfast, and a piece of pizza once a week (yes, I probably do have pizza once a week), and just be sure to load up on veggies, fruits, and protein in between.

With this mentality, here are just a few simple products that I have incorporated into my diet in the last few years, and have been loving ever since:

Quinoa: For all you pasta/rice lovers out there (ahem.. me), this is the perfect healthy alternative. Full of protein, iron, magnesium, and fiber, this grain makes you feel the satisfaction of eating couscous or rice, without all of the preservatives and carbohydrates.

Chia Seeds: My obsession. These little, tasteless seeds can be added to any meal of the day, and pack such powerful health benefits; it’s honestly hard to justify any reason NOT to eat them every day. I put them on salad, in oatmeal, and sometimes I even just eat a spoonful of them and rinse them down with a glass of water. (*Chia pudding recipe coming soon.)

Ezekiel Bread: Due to the fact that I am a sucker for bread, sub sandwiches, and PB&J, it was important to me that I find a decently healthy way to consume something I truly love, without dealing with unnecessary calories. Enter: Ezekiel bread. Keep in mind there is still gluten in sprouted bread; however, it still remains a cleaner alternative to eating white (or even whole wheat) bread that also helps to bring more protein into my often meatless diet.

Green Tea: Mmmm… so good! Next to a creamy Earl Grey, green tea is my go to tea of choice, hot or cold. I love the fact that it is loaded with antioxidants and positive health benefits, and if you find a brand or flavor you like, it’s hard to beat. Drinking a glass or two a day (rather than a diet soda or even just plain water) helps me feel cleansed, refreshed and hydrated. (Favorite brands: Mariage Freres, Mighty Leaf, and Trader Joe’s).

*Disclaimer: the photos shown above were not taken by me, but were courtesy of Creative Commons*

Leave a Reply

