Drugstore Beauty Favorites: Makeup

Anyone who knows me will know that I have acquired quite the obsession with makeup – it speaks to the very essence of my girly-girl nature. I’ve watched tutorials on YouTube from the likes of artists such as Lisa Eldridge for almost 2 years now. A few of the most important things I’ve learned in the past few years are as follows: be comfortable in your own skin; use makeup to enhance your best attributes, not to change what you don’t love; and finally, that drugstore products can be just as good (and sometimes better) than those in high end lines. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Chanel foundation and Benefit blushes, but it’s important for everyone to know that additional great products can be purchased at affordable prices.

IMG_8403

Here are a few of my favorite drugstore makeup items:

Maybelline ‘The Falsies’ Mascara: I’ve always loved Maybelline mascaras, but this is the best of them all. I first heard about this product from “beauty gurus” on YouTube, and have been in love ever since. It gives you awesome volume and thickness, and comes in a waterproof formula for those with oily skin or for those who want to wear a little mascara to the beach.

Collection 2000 ‘Lasting Perfection’ Concealer: Unfortunately this product is only available in UK drugstores, but perhaps may be purchased online? My mom was in Europe earlier this year so she was nice enough to bring one home for me to try. It gives amazing coverage and has good long-wearing quality, especially if used under a light dusting of powder.

Rimmel London Lasting Finish Lipstick – Kate Moss Collection: I have two different shades from this collection: a deep red and a pale nude. I love them both! The formulation is really nice (especially considering the price!) and there is a color for everyone in the range.

N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder: This is such a great matte bronzer for the price. It is not super pigmented, but that’s part of the reason why I like it. The color is definitely buildable, and the fact that it’s matte makes it wearable all year round.

L’Oreal Lineur Intense: I never keep my eyeliner routine the same. Sometimes I like a soft eye-shadow liner, sometimes pencil, sometimes gel, and sometimes liquid. When it comes to liquid liner (which I probably reach for most), this is one of my favorites. It takes some getting used to because it is not a felt-tip, but the results are awesome and it rarely cracks/flakes.

Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ Foundation: This is another little gem I had my mom pick up in the UK. I have not been able to find it in drugstores where I live, but if you do see it, grab it! This foundation was also raved about on YouTube, and it lives up to the hype. It has a shimmery, dewy finish, so it’s perfect the spring/summer months. However, it is so wearable and feels so sheer, that I could easily see myself wearing it year round.

I hope that this little list serves as a helpful reference or as a subtle reminder that you can have fun and play around with makeup without breaking the bank! I would love to know what your favorite drugstore makeup products are.

Leave a Reply

